HHS.gov Archive

This is an archive page. The links are no longer being updated.

News Release

Wednesday, Oct. 1, 2003

Contact: OPHS Press Office
(202) 205-1841


HHS Secretary Tommy G. Thompson has designated 11 experts to serve on the newly formed Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Advisory Committee (CFSAC). The committee held its first meeting this week.

"Chronic fatigue syndrome can be a serious, debilitating condition. The work of this valuable advisory committee will help us raise awareness among the general public and health care professionals to better serve those affected by this condition," Secretary Thompson said.

CFSAC will provide expert advice and recommendations to the Secretary on topics including the epidemiology and risk factors relating to chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) and diagnosis and treatment methods for the condition. The advisory committee is also charged with advising on the development and implementation of programs to inform the public; health care professionals; and the biomedical, academic, and research communities about advances related to CFS. This committee was formerly known as the Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Coordinating Committee.

David S. Bell, M.D., FAAP, a physician from Lyndonville, New York will chair the CFSAC. Dr. Bell has conducted extensive clinical research on chronic fatigue syndrome. He has also conducted pediatric evaluations and research on this syndrome in children and published articles about the effects of CFS.

CFSAC consists of 11 members. Seven of the members are biomedical research scientists with expertise in biomedical research applicable to CFS. The other four members are individuals with expertise in health care delivery, private health care services, or voluntary organizations concerned with the problems of individuals with CFS.

In addition to Dr. Bell, the other CFSAC members are:

  • Nancy C. Butler, information media specialist, Sageville Elementary School; Dubuque, Iowa. Ms. Butler was diagnosed with CFS in 1986.
  • Kenneth J. Friedman, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Pharmacology and Physiology, New Jersey Medical School; Newark, New Jersey.
  • Jane C. Fitzpatrick, physical therapist and consultant, Copeland Physical Therapy; Punta Gorda, Florida.
  • Nelson Gantz, M.D., FACP, chief of infectious diseases, Boulder Community Hospital Beacon Clinic; Boulder, Colorado.
  • Anthony Komaroff, M.D., professor of medicine, Harvard Medical School; Boston, Massachusetts.
  • Charles W. Lapp, M.D., physician and medical director, Hunter-Hopkins Center; Charlotte, North Carolina.
  • Lyle D. Lieberman, Esq., Lieberman, Gutierrez, and Merlina, PA; Miami.
  • Nahid Mohagheghpour, Ph.D., microbiologist and immunologist; consultant, Complementary Medicine Research Institute; California Pacific Medical Center; San Francisco.
  • Roberto Patarca, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Scientist, Cardiovascular Unit, Centocor-Johnson & Johnson; Miami, Florida.
  • Staci Stevens, Chair, Workwell Foundation; Ripon, California.

The advisory committee also includes five non-voting ex officio members, as well as representatives from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Food and Drug Administration, the Health Resources and Services Administration, the National Institutes of Health and the Social Security Administration.


Note: All HHS press releases, fact sheets and other press materials are available at http://www.hhs.gov/news.

Last Revised: October 2, 2003